Scripts for Calling Your Electeds about the Muslim Ban

Simple script for members of either party in Congress:

“Hello, I am (name) from (zipcode). I am calling because I am deeply alarmed by the Muslim Ban Executive Order that Donald Trump signed on Friday. Not only is it unconstitutional and racist; it is counter to America’s most deeply held ideals. It makes us less safe, in addition to making America appear foolish and cruel on the world stage. I want (senator/representative) to make a public statement strongly denouncing the ban and support legislation to lift the ban immediately.”

Personalizable script for either party in Congress if you have a story about how the ban is personal to you:

“Hello, I am (name) from (zipcode). I am calling because I am deeply alarmed by the Muslim Ban Executive Order that Donald Trump signed on Friday.

(Insert a story about how the ban impacts you, such as: “as a scientist, my professional and personal communities are deeply enriched by Muslim immigrants, who contribute immeasurably to our country” or “As an Iraq war veteran, I depended on Iraqi translators to keep me and my team safe. It is unconscionable that we would abandon them now” or “I am only alive today because the US welcomed my family as refugees/immigrants when they were fleeing violence in their homeland” )

What is (senator/representative) doing to get the ban lifted and prevent the executive branch from taking such drastic, harmful actions in the future?  (Wait for answer)

I am glad to hear (senator/representative) is taking action, but they must do more. I want (senator/representative) to make a public statement strongly denouncing the ban and support legislation to lift the ban immediately.”

Script that doesn’t appeal to the morals of your elected official, in case they don’t have any:

“Hello, I am (name) from (zipcode). I am calling because I am very alarmed by the Muslim Ban Executive Order that Donald Trump signed on Friday. It is incredibly troubling that one man is allowed to take that kind of unilateral action on immigration without even consulting Congress. We live in a democracy, not a monarchy! What is (senator/representative) doing to remove the ban and limit the power of the executive branch to pursue harmful unilateral actions in the future? (Wait for answer)

I want (senator/representative) to make a public statement strongly denouncing the ban and support legislation both to lift the ban immediately and to prevent unilateral executive actions like this in the future.”

Script for Democrats at the national level, which lays out exactly what is happening here:

“Hello, I am (name) from (zipcode). I am calling because I am deeply unhappy about the Muslim Ban Executive Order that Donald Trump signed on Friday. It is morally unconscionable to abandon refugees and immigrants, many of whom need to leave their homelands because of violence resulting from failed US policy. The only thing this policy accomplishes, besides rank cruelty and diminishing US standing in the eyes of our allies, is laying the groundwork for the fascist administration to pursue the internment camps Trump promised and the ethnic cleansing that Counselor to the President Steven Bannon has pushed in his far-right-wing conspiracy theory blog. This is only the first step. The administration is targeting Muslims because they think Americans don’t care about Muslims. We do care, and we need (senator/representative) to fight this with everything they have–not just because targeting Muslims refugees and immigrants is unconstitutional and counter to the most important American ideals, but because this is a test run for fascist violence and they’ll be coming for the rest of us next. What has (senator/representative) done so far to lift this ban and prevent this from happening again? (Wait for answer)

I am very glad to hear (senator/representative) is taking action on this.

(If they haven’t made a public statement) I want (senator/representative) to make a public statement strongly denouncing the ban.

I want (senator/representative) to support legislation to lift the ban immediately. I also want (senator/representative) to be present at the nearest airport port of call to ensure that detainees are receiving proper legal aid.”

Script for Governors if your state has a first Port of Call:

“Hello, I am (name) from (zipcode). I am calling because I am deeply troubled by the Muslim Ban Executive Order that Donald Trump signed on Friday. Our state has a long history of welcoming immigrants and refugees. I’ve heard that Border Control is continuing to enforce the Executive Order even though a nationwide stay has been put in place by a federal judge. What is (governor) doing to protect the refugees and immigrants who are being unlawfully detained and deported in our state? I want (governor) to use whatever forces are available to force Border Control within our state to comply with the federal judge’s ruling.”

Script for Mayors if your city has a first Port of Call:

“Hello, I am (name) from (zipcode). I am calling because I am deeply troubled by the Muslim Ban Executive Order that Donald Trump signed on Friday. Our city has a long history of welcoming immigrants and refugees. I’ve heard that Border Control is continuing to enforce the Executive Order even though a nationwide stay has been put in place by a federal judge. What is (Mayor) doing to protect the refugees and immigrants who are being unlawfully detained and deported in our state?  I want (Mayor) to use whatever forces are available to force Border Control within our state to comply with the federal judge’s ruling.”

Scripts for Calling Your Electeds about the Muslim Ban