Scripts for Calling your Representation and Asking them To Denounce Bannon and Muslim Registry

This morning I called all of my elected representation to ask them to publicly, loudly oppose the Muslim registry, Bannon, and the general authoritarian policy that Trump is trying to put in place. I also asked my national representation to demand a congressional investigation into the Russian interference in our election. These are the scripts I used. Note that my representation at the federal level have already denounced Bannon. If yours have not, use the line from my state-level scripts to demand that your representation denounce the appointment of a white nationalist to the cabinet. If you don’t know who your representatives are, click on the links to find them.

US Senators and Representatives:

Hi, my name is and I am a constituent of <Senator/Representative>

First, I want to thank <Senator/Representative> for <her/their/his> leadership in denouncing the appointment of white nationalist Steve Bannon as chief of strategy. That public opposition is so important because authoritarian leaders use our lack of opposition to escalate attempts to consolidate power and erode the rights of marginalized groups. It is vital that we not cooperate with people who have openly espoused fascism until they have capitulated on their attempts to put fascist policy in place. To that end, I would like<Senator/Representative> to:

– Denounce the racist, authoritarian policies of mass deportation and the Muslim registry. Make it clear that we will not cooperate with any authoritarian policy like mass deportations or a registry of Muslims. This includes denouncing the No Fly List, which was a dangerous policy even under the control of a thoughtful, even-tempered president.
– Demand an immediate congressional investigation into the Russian interference in the presidential election and the Trump campaign’s relationship with Putin

State Senators/Representatives:

Hi, my name is  and I am a constituent of <Senator/Representative>

First, I want to thank <Senator/Representative> for  <her/their/his> leadership on progressive policies.   is a great place to live because of leadership like Senator Burdick. Now especially we need strong leadership to push back on the racist, authoritarian policy that our President-Elect and his team are pushing for. I would like <Senator/Representative> to:

– Demand that the appointment of known white nationalist and anti-Semite Steve Bannon be rescinded
– Denounce the racist, authoritarian policies of mass deportation and the Muslim registry. Make it clear that the will not cooperate with any authoritarian policy like mass deportations or a registry of Muslims
– Refuse to criminalize protest
– Release a plan detailing how   will thwart policies that infringe on the rights of all Americans

Governor:

Hi, my name is and I am a resident of .

I appreciate taking a stand against hate; however, I would like her to take a go further and be more specific in denouncing the racist, misogynist authoritarian policy that has taken hold of our national government. Specifically, I want to

– Demand that the appointment of known white nationalist and anti-Semite Steve Bannon be rescinded
– Denounce the racist, authoritarian policies of mass deportation and the Muslim registry. Make it clear that Oregon will not cooperate with any authoritarian policy like mass deportations or a registry of Muslims. This includes denouncing the No Fly List, which was a dangerous policy even under the control of a thoughtful, even-tempered president.
– Refuse to criminalize protest
– Release a plan detailing how  will lead in thwarting the policies that infringe on the rights of all Americans.

Scripts for Calling your Representation and Asking them To Denounce Bannon and Muslim Registry