Berlin (Again, Always): Bookended With Kindness

20 July 2010, In the late evening.

Today just really didn’t go as well as I had planned.

Through a series of preventable errors, my laptop got soaked with water, and even after drying refuses to turn on. Zack thinks this means the motherboard is fried. I am inclined to agree.

So tomorrow I am going netbook shopping. This is not how I envisioned spending my Berlin “vacation”, but these things happen. Getting inconsolable about it will not help things.

My day was sprinkled with kind women. On the plane today I sat next to a voluptuous woman born and raised in what was formerly Rhodesia and is now Zimbabwe. She is married now, and lives in the Dallas/Ft. Worth area. She and her husband were vacationing after a mission trip in Romania, where they were ministering to gypsies. She bought a watch with a hidden heart design on the plane, the first time I had ever seen anyone buy something from an in-flight magazine. She was so kind and motherly, gently moving my pillow aside while I slept to show the flight attendent that I was buckled up. She asked me about my studies and my family, and told me about her people. It was one of the first times in a long time that a stranger had offered me such warmth.

The other kind woman was my second taxi driver this morning. After taxiing to the train station the first time, I realized that I had left the notebook with all of my flight and contact information written in it. So I had to take a taxi back to the flat to get it, and then back to the train station. The woman who drove me was chatty and kind, so sweet to me in my unslept, unkempt, disheveled and disheartened state. She wished me well.

Berlin (Again, Always): Bookended With Kindness

Leave a Reply

