Letter: To Shanna about Clementine Debauchary

From: Rachel
To: Shanna
Date: Wed, July 7, 2010 1:16 PM

Hi my sister!

Today I found one of the clementines in my room. It was molding and squishy and icky, so I decided it was time for it to go. However, I was too lazy to walk downstairs to throw it away. So instead, I decided I would throw it out my window into the next-door-neighbor’s gutter, which has a convenient little hole like miniature golf! The only problem was that the window doesn’t really open properly for me to get a good aim at the next-door-neighbor’s gutter, so I chucked it as best I good. My aim was off, and it splattered on the roof where the kids play!

Keep in mind that this was all in broad daylight. I hope no one noticed! I quickly ducked back inside and closed my window. Hopefully no one will suspect.

LS

From: Shanna
To: Rachel
Date: Friday, July 9, 2010 10:05 am

Hi my beloved sister!

Drinks are cheap here. I drink a lot. Because there is nothing else to do besides try to keep from making eye contact with men and avoid stepping in trash in the street. The food would make you cry here. The only good things are liquid: cheap wine and coffee of a crack-like strength.

Right now, there is a beaver singing and dancing in French on the tv. Just thought I should let you know.

I walk for hours in the blazing, horrid sun, staring at Ceren’s shoulders as we try to find some bureau or building or other. Everyone pretends to know where it is. Of course, it is never there. And if it is there, no one will talk to her.

I love you so much ❤

Letter: To Shanna about Clementine Debauchary

Leave a Reply

