The Case of the Missing Earplug

Since moving to my new, beautiful, conveniently located, warm summer flat, I have started wearing earplugs. The convenient location of the flat means that it is subject to near-constant road noise, with a nice backdrop of seagulls screeching at all hours and construction pounding next door. Since a lot of this starts at 4 or 5 in the morning (the seagulls, however, go all night), it is important for my sleeping that I do something to block out the noise. Hence, ear plugs.

At some point this morning, however, I woke to find that I was no longer wearing earplugs. Not only was I no longer wearing ear plugs, in fact, but one of the ear plugs was inside my mouth! I was holding it tucked up against my cheek, like a piece of gum held in reserve by a child trying to eat another piece of candy without spitting out the gum first.

I couldn’t find the other earplug. I am deeply concerned that I ate it.

The Case of the Missing Earplug

3 thoughts on “The Case of the Missing Earplug

  1. Rachel Shadoan says:

    Oh, dear, I do hope it’s not deeply Freudian. The last thing I need is to find out that I actually desire to have ear sex, or a penis ear, or something equally awkward.

Leave a Reply

