Ireland Adventure: Train to Edinburgh

From my field notebook

Date: May 1, 2010
Time: 7:15 PM
Location: Train from Dundee to Edinburgh Haymarket
Number of Pheasants Seen on Train from Dundee to Edinburgh: 4

I am restraining myself from murdering the loud and boisterous Scots on the train around me. I assume that their obnoxious loudness is a side effect of drunkenness. My lack of patience with/desire to wholesale slaughter these folks does not bode well for the rest of my trip, as I am heading to Ireland, where I hear they’ve made loud and drunk into a way of life. I am placating myself with a sandwich Alicia packed for me–polish bread, ham, Swiss cheese (from the Polish shop) and butter. I am praying that the blood sugar improvement post-sandwich delays the homicides/quells the homicidal tendency. There must have been a football match today.

Spring has well and truly arrived here, and the landscape is almost unrecognizeable to me for its lushness.

Ireland Adventure: Train to Edinburgh

Leave a Reply

