List: Things I Have Pretended Recently

Recently, I have pretended:

  • while rowing, that I was the shuttle in a loom
  • while waiting at the bus stop, that the bookish young lady walking down the street with the wizened old man was the watchmaker’s apprentice, and the wizend old man was the watchmaker. They were heading towards the watch shop in the center of town, I told myself, after an evening out somewhere. (Not that I know the story attached to the watchmaker and his apprentice. I just know that they are important, and that what they do is somewhat magical.)
  • while rowing, that I was a mouse in a piano running across the strings to avoid the hammers while someone played
  • while walking to Tesco Riverside late on a Saturday night, that the selkies gathered along the banks of the Tay to listen to me sing
  • while entering the QMB after hours by scanning my student id at the various doors, that I was a suit in a government agency (FBI, CIA, NSA, one of those scary ones) heading towards an urgent meeting
List: Things I Have Pretended Recently

Leave a Reply

