Email: To Shanna

To: Shanna
From: Rachel
Date: Monday, March 29, 2010 6:01 am
Subject: Lantern Fish (Not What You Think!)

Hi my sister!!!!

I woke up about half an hour ago, sore from playing frisbee in the park yesterday and needing to start beans a’soakin’ for cooking this afternoon. I hope your drive back to Colorado is going nicely! I want to say, “Please snorgle the world’s largest groundhog” for me, but I am still devastated that it is just a statue instead of a groundhog the size of a Volkswagon.

One of the benefits of waking up before dawn officially cracks, is that I get to see new things that my fox is doing!

This is only the second time I’ve seen him lighting the lanterns! The first time was last week, when I was trying to finish video editing and essentially living in the QMB. I took a picture of it then, but somehow it got lost in all of the insanity surrounding that deliverable. I’m going to make the argument that the video for Team NCR is actually a whirlpool of confusion, exhaustion, and regret. I was so proud of it! Then I showed it to Alexander Gruensteidl (a designer formerly from Apple, and also formerly of IDEO). When it was done rolling, he was like, “That made me feel stressed.” Someone else said that it was like I had just gotten really excited that I had finally figured out how to animate things in Final Cut. Cora was the one who figured out my real mentality, though. She said, “It’s more like, “It’s 4 am, and you’re still desperately video editing, and you’re like, “How do I get people to engage with this!?!? I know! I’ll make EVERYTHING MOVE!!!!” No one seemed to love the banjo music in the background! (No accounting for taste). I rewatched it this weekend, though, and took out most of the animation. When you watch something on no sleep you are a lot less willing to have text zooming all over the damn place.

I sang the first couple of bars of dueling banjos at the Square-Go AGM on Friday, and thought of you. It’s not dueling banjos if I’m the only one singing the banjo part!

I’m sorry we didn’t get to Skype this weekend! But my deliverable is done now, I hope (though if it’s not properly exported to video when I get to school at 8 am, I am abgefuckt), so I will have all of April to talk to you! I can’t wait for you to get to Istanbul! I will figure out how to fly you here and then I will take you to the Edinburgh yarn shop! Here’s a preview for you!

4471034852_9e4cdb8d56_b.jpg 4470252303_073d2e6fa7_b.jpg

And they even serve tea! I’m not even a good knitter and I could have easily spent more money than I am allowed to spend on all the lovely yarn! If you look in the top right cubby (and I actually mean right this time) in the first picture, you can see part of the yarn that I bought. It’s this lovely ombre-dyed rainbow wool. I don’t know what to do with it! I previously had a lovely pattern for a lacy shawl type thing… but it is so far beyond my abilities that I am afraid to even attempt it yet. I kind of want to knit an octopus hat! Or a squid hat! It would be like the rastafarian hats with the faux dreadlocks, but with tentacles instead!

Clearly, everything is better with tentacles.

Shanna, I have an eggplant dilemma. I have one and don’t know what to do with it. Please advise.

I love my sister!

LS

Email: To Shanna

Leave a Reply

