Experimental Food: Cabbage, Grapefruit, Bacon Salad

Cabbage, Bacon, Grapefuit Salad

Introduction

The combination of cabbage and grapefruit was brought to my attention by Jessica over at Seaweed Snacks, with her grapefruit cabbage salad. She pitches it as a great topping for tacos, and I imagine she is 100% correct. And then, you know, bacon makes everything better.

Hypothesis

If cabbage and grapefruit are good together, and cabbage and bacon are good together (a fact supported by the existence of numerous warm cabbage and bacon salad recipes), and grapefruit is good with salt (I never sugar my grapefruit, always salt), then cabbage, grapefruit, and bacon ought to be good together!

Materials

  • 1 adorably tiny white/green cabbage
  • 1 large grapefruit
  • Enough Bacon, cooked to desired level of crispiness and cut/crumbled into pieces

Procedure

  1. Thinly slice the cabbage (the thinner, the better–I like it almost lace thin, but I never manage to get it that way).
  2. Peel and chop the grapefruit into bite sized chunks.
  3. Toss the cabbage, bacon, and grapefruit together. (More vigorous tossing==more grapefruit juice on the other items in the salad, which seems to be a good thing, from my perspective)
  4. Eat.

Results

Alicia and Kate could barely stand to look at it, and Caoimhe did finally try a bite but was worried it would upset her tummy. Alexander Gruensteidl (formerly Apple and IDEO) cringed when I even mentioned the combination. However, it was actually pretty good! I liked it, anyway. It wasn’t blow your mind awesome, but it was good. A little strange, maybe, but tasty and satisfying.

Conclusions

It would be improved by the addition of diced avocado, and possibly thinly sliced green peppers and grated/shaved carrot. Substituting half of the green cabbage with purple cabbage would make it prettier!

Experimental Food: Cabbage, Grapefruit, Bacon Salad

6 thoughts on “Experimental Food: Cabbage, Grapefruit, Bacon Salad

    1. rachelshadoan says:

      I swear that it’s really pretty good! It’s much better than some of the experimental things i’ve made. Hawaiian quinoa, for instance, (which was even from a recipe) was truly vile! It made the house smell so awful that i couldn’t comprehend why anyone would want to eat it, ever. And there is the now-infamous sweet potato tart… Or the pumpkin caramel apple cheesecake….

  1. amberlife says:

    Bacon and cabbage – absolutely. Bacon and grapefruit..mmm..maybe. Grapefruit and cabbage – wrong on too many levels!
    Now you see – sweetpotato tart and the pumpkin cheesecake don’t sound too bad in comparison…..all a matter of taste I suppose (no pun intended)

    1. rachelshadoan says:

      And here I thought it would be the bacon and grapefruit part that would be controversial! For some reason cabbage and grapefruit doesn’t strike me as at all contentious…Possibly because I had seen it in someone else’s recipe first. Or maybe because coleslaw and fruit salad are both served at summer family gatherings in my family, at basically the same temperature, and therefore are essentially the same in my mind.

  2. amberlife says:

    Maybe it’s an American thing – a bit like Waldorf salad. I have a bit of a thing about fruit with unlikely things – so maybe it’s just me!! Probably is…

    1. rachelshadoan says:

      I do love waldorf salad!

      It might be an American thing–Alicia (who is more polish in her eating habits than american) hates it when I put anything sweet with anything savory. I made a slightly sweet stirfry last night with bokchoy and green beans and mushrooms, and you should have seen her face when I gave her some to taste! Who knew she could crinkle her face up that much?

Leave a Reply

