Letter: To Scottish Guy Without an Accent

In reply to Letter: From Scottish Guy Without an Accent to the DUTCH GIRL!!!

Dear Scottish Guy Without an Accent,

I am not the Dutch girl. (I hate to disappoint you right off the bat, but I didn’t want to get your hopes up.) I am a girl, but to my knowledge, I’m not Dutch. My great grandfather has a pair of wooden clogs (which I routinely emptied of dust and spiders when I was a child and the clogs sat on the mantle), but he was German so I doubt it counts.

I’ve been walking past the letters you taped to lampposts on my way to university for some time now. That’s a pretty brave thing to do, in the scheme of things. It reminds me of some of the crazier things I have done in the past. I’m glad your email is a google email address–who knows what kind of spammers hang around lampposts on Constitution Street. It would be sad to receive an email from your Dutch girl only to find out that by some crazy circumstances she’s actually an heir to the Nigerian throne and desperately needs you to give her your bank account information so she can transfer a portion of her wealth into your name. Fortunately google has spam filters for that.

Anyway, I hope you found your Dutch girl, and that you are enjoying preparations to move to Manchester. I just wanted to write and let you know that I have read your letter, and appreciate your bravery. Points to you. You seem like an interesting fellow, and I think I would enjoy getting to know you. Drop me a line if you are so inclined.

Thanks for adding adventure and mystery to my life,

Rachel
An American in Dundee (with an Accent) (without Dutch heritage)

Letter: To Scottish Guy Without an Accent

Leave a Reply

